Melting the Twisted Ice

Melting the twisted ice

Fragments of a mix by DJ Soma

I have been planning to get this out for a while. I played a set in the ambient zone at Dunedin’s mid-winter Solstice party. Planned to record it that night & upload it shortly afterwards, but there was some pre-set chaos & in the fray I forgot to turn record on. I’ve had a couple of goes at re-recording the mix since then, but have had little time to get it sorted out. Anyway I’m about to abandon my efforts, but just before I do, here are the fragments that I’ve pulled together so far. Enjoy…

Prelude (part 1) – download (17.4 Mb)

Track

Title

Artist

Album

1

Dismalia

The Ricketty Galumphy Bad-time Band

Unreleased

2

Demented blues

The Ricketty Galumphy Bad-time Band

Unreleased

3

Introduction II

Mentz

Piani

4

Trip to Nomoreland

Kovacs

Eastern block


Viscera (part 2) – download – 69.9 Mb

1

Nickel Bags

Digable Planets

Reachin‘ (A new refutation of time and space) [a smidgeon]

2

Jazz Baby

Lo-Fi Scientists

Lo-Fi Scientists

3

Time Machine

Soulkrates

Because best things are free (Edition Hiphop)

4

Intro (with Pepe, Hasi Intl.™
& Rosalba)

Tracky Birthday

Animal Audition

5

16th June 1996

XZICD

O)))))O(((((O

6

Gauche

Maps and Diagrams

The giant woods

7

Wa Wa Wa

MiaMia

Eclectic youth vol. 17

8

Mare Eternum

Universe Alley 59

N/A

9

Tiny Little Pieces

Hypnagog

Dreaming in pieces

10

Un Santa Claus a las 6

Crisopa

Medicamentosa

I normally try to link to all of the albums used in my mixes, but at this stage don’t have the time sorry. If you really like any of the tracks, you can probably still find most of them with a few searches. Good luck on the hunt. Reply to this post if you really can’t find anything & I’ll see if I can track it down.

Leave a Reply

